National Academy of Medicine adds three UAB faculty to its distinguished ranks

UAB News, by Bob Shepard, October 17, 2022

National Academy of Medicine

Three faculty members of the Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham have been invited to join the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors that can be bestowed on a physician or scientist in the United States.

Marie-Carmelle Elie, M.D., chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, James Markert, M.D., chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, and Alan Tita, M.D., Ph.D., professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and associate dean for Global and Women’s Health, join 13 current or former UAB faculty members who have been honored during their careers with selection to NAM. Membership in NAM is widely viewed as one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, and is limited to individuals who have demonstrated both exceptional professional achievements and outstanding commitment to service.

“We congratulate and thank these outstanding faculty whose pioneering research, patient care and service have earned them this prestigious honor,” said UAB President Ray L. Watts. “UAB is very proud to now have seven faculty in this elite academy (and a total of 16 academy members in our history), which speaks to our leadership role — nationally and globally — in forging the future of medicine.”